Hugh J. Watson Award

2019 recipient, Dr. Michael Goul, Arizona State University 

The Hugh J. Watson Award is presented annually by Teradata University for Academics to honor and recognize an individual whose significant achievements and high quality contributions to the data and analytics academic community via Teradata University Academics embody the spirit and passion of Hugh Watson and his dedication to Teradata University.

Established in 2017, this award is in honor of Dr. Hugh J. Watson, academic co-founder of Teradata University for Academics. This annual recognition will drive and ensure continued sustainability of Hugh's original vision for Teradata University for Academics.

The Hugh J. Watson Award will be presented annually at a major conference and no recipient can receive more the award more than once.

Timing: Nominations (including self-nominations) accepted from March 1st  through May 31st.

Award includes:

  • Framed certificate
  • $1,000 prize
  • Recipient profile page on Teradata University for Academics

Eligibility and Submissions length:

Examples of Contributions:

  • Serving on Teradata University board
  • Contributions to the Teradata University website
  • Leadership at academic conferences/organizations (BA Congress, Conference or Track Chairs, SIG leadership)
  • Developing and growing relationships with and contributions from Teradata University partners (SAS, MSTR, IBM, others)
  • Leadership supporting the Teradata University brand – delivering workshops/sessions, publications (Journal articles) and research (BI Curriculum Guidelines, surveys) highlighting Teradata University
  • Supporting students - student competitions(advisor or judge), directed study, content creation

Selection Committee: The selection committee will be comprised of Teradata University Program Director, Teradata University Executive Director and Hugh Watson. Teradata University program management and the Teradata University exec board reserve the right to establish other faculty awards.

2017       Barbara Wixom, MIT
2018       Ramesh Sharda, Oklahoma State University
2019       Michael Goul, Arizona State University